Carol Suite (Pipings)

Flute, organ–10′

A four-movement suite of carols for church or recital use, including lively treatments of Christmas and Easter tunes like “Wexford Carol” and “O Jesulein Süss,” as well as original material.


SKU: 9781451401929 (ISBN) Categories: , Tags: , , , ,


Carol Suite (1978, 2001)

Flute and organ
Duration: 10′
Premiere-1978, by John Thomas and Marian Craighead, Rochester, NY.
Part of Pipings, edited by Teresa Bowers, published by Augsburg Fortress Music.

Program Note

Carol Suite opens with a lilting Prelude on an original theme, the rhythm of which reappears in each movement. The familiar German tune, “O Jesulein süss” (O Sweet Little Jesus) is presented in a straightforward setting with a rocking quartal accompaniment. “The Lamb of God” moves from grief through radiance to resignation, and the carol tune appears only in fragments. In the Irish “Wexford Carol,” irregular rhythms give way to a lyrical second theme that outlines the carol tune. The music of the Prelude returns and carries the work to a jubilant close. The premiere was given by my father, John Thomas, and organist Marian Craighead at Asbury Methodist Church, Rochester, New York in 1977.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Carol Suite (Pipings)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *