Freddy’s Giant Leap (download)


Piano solo–5′

A mercurial piano scherzo that captures the spirit of a beloved pooch on his last journey into the great beyond.

Preview the score:


Listen to a performance by Rebecca Lindholm:



Freddy’s Giant Leap (download)

Piano solo
5′ duration
Commissioned by Rebecca Lindholm
Premiere—2009, by Rebecca Lindholm, Fergus Falls, Minn.
8 pages

Program Note

Freddy’s Giant Leap is the most recent of several works commissioned by my friend Rebecca Lindholm. A fine pianist herself, Becca wanted to commemorate a very special relationship in music. In 2005, she lost a beloved dog—a Papillon—which disappeared in the Fergus Falls, Minnesota area. The mystery was never conclusively solved, but there was a report of an eagle rising from the lake where Freddy was last seen, prey in its grasp. The work strives to capture Freddy’s mercurial mood and buoyant spirit in a form not unlike that of a Chopin scherzo, while offering the pianist opportunity for brilliant and contrapuntal play. The final gesture may be programmatic… or simply hopeful.

David Evan Thomas has been honored with two McKnight Foundation Artist Fellowships, an Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and commissions from the Minnesota Orchestra and Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. Born in Rochester, New York in 1958, Thomas studied at Northwestern University, Eastman School of Music and the University of Minnesota. His music is published by ECS, MorningStar, Augsburg Fortress and several other publishers. While he started as a trumpet player, Thomas has studied the piano throughout the decades, most recently with Stephanie Wendt and Irina Elkina. In recent years, he has participated in the Bennington Chamber Music Conference. Thomas lives in Minneapolis.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Freddy’s Giant Leap (download)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…