Mary’s Meditation (download)


Medium to high voice and piano–7′

A scene from the oratorio, The First Apostle: Mary Magdalene’s soliloquy after encountering Jesus risen from the tomb.

Preview the score:



Mary’s Meditation (download)

From the oratorio, The First Apostle

Mezzo-soprano, piano
7′ duration
Text: J. Pittman McGehee, Job 19:25, I Corinthians 15: 20
Voice range:

Program Note

Mary’s Meditation comprises two excerpts from the oratorio, The First Apostle. In the first, a setting of a poem by J. Pittman McGehee, Mary has witnessed the Resurrection, and is meditating on its effect and meaning. The familiar text, “I know that my Redeemer liveth,” closes the first Part of the oratorio. This concert selection is dedicated to Natalie Arduino, who created the role of Mary Magdalene in the Houston premiere in 2012.


He vanished. My soul left empty like the tomb. “Do not hold…”
the sound of his words, were powerful like
the sea when her tide flows away.

He must be found, He must be found
in the vacant place,
not behind the rock, but within the heart.

Edged out of the world on a tree, like the first
at Eden—now a new creation—a new way to be known in the deep.
The man disappears as the divine reappears inside those who have the eye to see.

Where to go with this wealth that holds no earthly
value? Can I slide seamlessly back into my
ordinary life? How to serve him now?

The garden is green in the morning light.
The angels have departed and I too must leave like Eve before me.
And yet… (J. Pittman Megehee)

I know that my Redeemer liveth,
and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth. (Job 19 : 25)

For now is Christ risen from the dead,
the first fruits of them that sleep. (I Corinthians 15:20)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Mary’s Meditation (download)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…