The Four Freedoms

by Maria Jette, Lisa Drew, Dan Dressen, James Bohn, with Philip Brunelle, piano

A portion of FDR’s stirring “Four Freedoms” speech for SATB quartet or chorus and piano.



This nation has placed its destiny
in the hands and heads and hearts
of its free men and women;
and its faith in freedom under the guidance of God.
Freedom means the supremacy of human rights
We look forward to a world founded upon four essential
human freedoms:
freedom of speech and expression;
freedom of every person to worship God in his own way;
freedom from want—everywhere in the world.
freedom from fear—anywhere in the world.
This is no vision of a distant millennium.
It is attainable in our own time.
Franklin Delano Roosevelt, from Message to Congress January 6, 1941, in Public Papers, vol. 9, p. 672 (P.D.), edited by the composer.